Brief History Of Wexford Wanderers
Wexford Wanderers Rugby Football Club was officially established in 1924 by a group of enthusiastic rugby players who had being playing rugby in Wexford for many years. The only interruption to play at Wexford Wanderers R.F.C. came in 1939 to 1945 due to the outbreak of the 2nd World War.
The club house, built in 1976 at Park Lane, boasts four large changing rooms, a fully equipped multi-gym, dance area, bars and catering area surrounded by 3 full size floodlit playing pitches. Up until 1976 the changing facilities for the teams were at Whites Hotel in Wexford Town. This facility was made available to the club by the kind generosity of the Mc Carthy Family and later the Small family. This is something for which the club will be eternally grateful. In 1975 a Cricket section was formed and a Cricket pitch laid out between two of the Rugby pitches. Cricket is an integral part of the club and ensures that the facilities of the club are fully utilised during the Summer months.
The first club success came in 1930 when we won the Provincial Towns Cup. Currently the club competes in Div. 3 of the Leinster League, with high hopes of promotion to Division 2. Over the years our playing members have gained representative honours for the British and Irish Lions, Ireland, Ireland B, Irish Student and Irish youths. Of course our most famous representative being, Gordan Darcy.Famed for its hospitality, Wexford Wanders, due to its proximity to the Roslare Euro port, regularly plays host to visiting teams from France, Wales and England . New members are always welcome at all levels as players or for the wonderful social life attached to the club.